Lorenzo Maitani and Associates, The Twelve Minor Prophets

First half of the 14th century
Marble relief
Bottom register of a large relief of the life of Christ.
Cathedral of the Assumption, Orvieto, Italy

The last twelve books of the Christian Old Testament are called "The Minor Prophets." Here eleven of them point up to the events in Christ's life which they were believed to have prophesied. The scrolls in their hands are of course the prophetic books named after them. The one prophet without a scroll is most likely Jonah, the only one whose book is about him, not by him. He reclines in the center beneath a stylized vine, the hedera or ivy vine of the Vulgate Jonah 4:6.

View this image in full resolution.
Read more about images of Jonah.

Photographed at the cathedral by Richard Stracke, shared under Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.