Six Bishop Saints with SS. Stephen and Lawrence

12th century
Detail of the Apse Mosaic
Cathedral of Monreale, Sicily

Left to right, the saints are Martin, Stephen, Peter of Alexandria, Clement, Silvester, Thomas Becket, Lawrence, and Nicholas. They are all labeled, but little else distinguishes them from one another. The two deacon saints differ from the bishops in being beardless and wearing a sort of alb rather than the chasubles and pallia that signify the episcopal status of the others.

View this image in full resolution.
Read more about St. Martin, St. Clement, St. Thomas Becket, St. Lawrence, and St. Nicholas.

Photographed at the cathedral by Richard Stracke, shared under Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.